ordinance 2023-01-26-0035

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER ROBERT DESPAIN.

* * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Despain suffered an illness in the line of duty on August 25,2020, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said illness; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Despain is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period September 30, 2021 to November 30, 2021; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 456 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Despain; **NOW THEREFORE:**

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Despain's line-of-duty injury leave for the period September 30, 2021 to November 30, 2021, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 26th day of January, 2023.

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Debbie Racca-Sittre, City Clerk

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney



City of San Antonio

City Council Meeting January 26, 2023

26.

2023-01-26-0035

Ordinance extending line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Robert Despain. [Maria Villagomez, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]

Councilmember Courage moved to Approve on the Consent Agenda. Councilmember Rocha Garcia seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave

Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo,

Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, Perry